Volcano in Hawaii

Master Geosciences​

Structure and study contents of the master's program in geosciences
Volcano in Hawaii
Image: IGW

The master program Geosciences M.Sc. has been revised. The start of the reformed program is the winter semester 2021/22, an application is possible online ( https://www.uni-jena.de/Bewerbung_Master) until July 15, 2021, after which the enrollment starts.
Information on the old, discontinued program MSc. Geosciences Geology (2016), Geophysics (2011), Mineralogy (2016) can be found here.

The most important innovations at a glance:

  • Students do not have to determine their field of study (geology, mineralogy, geophysics) at the beginning of their studies, but only at the end.
  • In the first year of study there are two common courses in which all students learn the most important geoscientific methods - from all three fields of study.
  • There is a new free module in which students can choose from the entire range of courses offered by the university. This makes it possible to acquire important additional interdisciplinary qualifications, for example in economics and languages.
  • In addition to the winter semester, entry for the summer semester has now also been created. In this way, longer waiting periods between bachelor's and master's studies can be reduced, which in turn enables earlier entry into professional life.
Download important documents:

What are the geosciences and what are the individual fields of study?

Ultraschall im Feldpraktikum Ultraschall im Feldpraktikum Image: IGW

The four-semester program offers a broad interdisciplinary education for a holistic understanding of the earth system on the one hand and the possibility to specialize in the three fields of study geology, geophysics and mineralogy on the other hand.
The handling of large amounts of data, modern analytics and field work are integral parts of the education.

Study fields:

Geology:

There are several disciplines in the geology major, similar to medicine.
Applied geology includes resource geology, groundwater geology, engineering geology, bio-geo-interactions, and rock-water interactions. Many of these relationships have a direct impact on supplies , but also put people at risk.
Structural geology deals with structures of the Earth such as folds, ductile shear zones, and brittle fractures, e.g., in the structure of mountain ranges worldwide. This usually involves metamorphic, magmatic and sedimentary processes.
Hydrogeology studies the "critical zone" formed by the overlap of the atmosphere, hydrosphere, biosphere, and lithosphere. In addition to soils, it includes the unsaturated zone and the near-surface hydrogeosphere.
General and Historical Geology, focusing on sedimentology, stratigraphy, and Quaternary geology, studies the structure of continental sedimentary basins and the historical evolution of life and its influence on our planet.

Geophysixs

In the field of study geophysics you will deal with the physical properties of rocks and minerals and their changes. Using state-of-the-art, geophysical measurement methods, you will investigate the subsurface space and its coupled processes.
Based on advanced methods of geophysics in the fields of technical geothermics, magnetics and electromagnetics, seismics as well as aero- and satellite geophysics and their application in field experiments, you will learn the latest methods and tools for processing and analyzing large data sets in order to be prepared for future challenges in research and especially industry.

Mineralogy

The mineralogy course includes modules on crystallography, petrology and geochemistry, among others. The course teaches the relationships between the structure, composition and properties of geomaterials.
You will learn important scientific techniques, including methods of microscopy, spectroscopy, and thermodynamic and geochemical modeling.
You will apply this knowledge to a variety of mineralogical topics ranging from the genesis (formation) of ore deposits to meteorite research and the birth of the solar system. Likewise, you will learn materials science skills for dealing with real-world topics.

Study design

In the first year of study, you will acquire advanced knowledge of interdisciplinary geoscientific work in the compulsory area "Geoscientific Practice".
The compulsory elective area "Geoscientific specialization" comprises modules from geology, geophysics and mineralogy. Here you focus on one of the three fields of study, depending on your interests.
In the second year of study, the geoscientific project and the master's thesis follow, both of which you will complete in the chosen field of study.
In the "Interdisciplinary Elective Area" you can either take further geoscientific modules or modules from neighboring disciplines such as physics, chemistry, mathematics or biology.
There is also a free module: Here, the entire range of courses offered by the university is available to you. This allows you to acquire important additional interdisciplinary qualifications, for example in the field of economics or languages.

During your studies, you will be given a variety of opportunities to work on current research projects. The lectures and seminars are also supplemented by practice-oriented excursions, exercises and measurements. Furthermore, the Institute of Geosciences maintains close contacts with non-university research institutes and companies.

Musterstudienplan_Master_Geow Musterstudienplan_Master_Geow Image: Universität Jena

Entrance requirement and application

Students working through flyer Students working through flyer Image: Christoph Worsch (University of Jena)

The admission requirement for the M. Sc. Geosciences program is a qualified university degree in a course of study in the geosciences with study achievements of at least 180 credit points (LP) leading to a Bachelor of Science degree or an equivalent university degree in a related subject, which has been evaluated with an overall grade of "good" or better.

Graduates of related courses of study (in particular physics, chemistry, materials science, other geosciences or environmental studies) are generally admitted if their degree is equivalent. The equivalence is usually given if courses with a total of 60 LP (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System, ECTS) have been successfully completed in the subjects mathematics, physics, chemistry and geosciences in the previous study program. At least 12 LP should come from the field of geosciences.
Applicants who do not meet this admission requirement may be admitted if their application documents show a special professional qualification for the Master's program in Geosciences and thus an equivalence. Equivalence is determined by means of a case-by-case examination, in which relevant professional experience is also taken into account. The decision on this is made by the examination board. In cases of doubt, a selection interview may be held. Admission with conditions is possible.

The Master's program in Geosciences requires advanced knowledge of the English language in order to be able to understand lectures in English well and to independently prepare texts on specialized topics in English. The existence of sufficient language skills is determined by the Admissions Committee. Proof can be provided in the following ways:

  • by language certificates above level B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference,
  • an admission interview conducted in English, or
  • by school reports which prove at least four years of instruction in English up to the degree entitling the holder to admission to higher education.
  • International applicants must provide evidence of German language skills at the level of DSH 2 or TestDaF 4x4.

The application is possible via the online application portal de of the Friedrich Schiller University.
If you have any questions regarding the application, please contact the study advisor.

Career prospects

The degree qualifies you for a practical career in many occupational fields, with geoscientists being specialists in demand both nationally and internationally.

Jobs can be found in the

  • Basic research
  • in public research related institutions
  • geo and engineering companies
  • global raw material and energy industry
  • environmental protection

Why should it be the Master's in Jena?

Alumni meeting in the garden of the IGW Alumni meeting in the garden of the IGW Image: IGW

Jena in particular offers a wide range of conditions and close contact with well-known companies due to its particularly interesting geological environment, but also due to its economic position as a high-industry location.

The study program itself is characterized by the deliberately personal relationship between teachers and students.
"Here the prof. still knows the names of his students".
Many excursions to the local area and the whole world, as well as numerous exercises, allow a quick and easy deepening of the theoretically learned material.
Furthermore, Jena offers a well-functioning student council. It represents the interests of the students and plans events (Geo-Grillabend, Barbarafeier, Filmnacht...), so that students can also get to know each other across disciplines and semesters.

By the way: The semester fee also includes a semester and culture ticket: This means that you can use public transportation in Jena as well as regional trains throughout Thuringia free of charge. In addition, admission to the Jena Theaterhaus, the Jena Philharmonic and the city's museums is included. This is unique throughout Thuringia!

Facts about the study program and important documents

Degree: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Credits/ECTS: 120 credit points (LP)
Teaching language: German
Start of study: winter semester, summer semester
Part-time possible: yes

General study guidance and information about the new Master of Geosciences
Kilian Pollok, Dr
Room 6712
Carl-Zeiss-Promenade 10
07745 Jena

Vulkan in Hawaii

Master Geowissenschaften

Aufbau und Studieninhalte des Masterstudiums Geowissenschaften
Vulkan in Hawaii
Foto: IGW

Das Masterstudium Geowissenschaften M.Sc. wurde überarbeitet. Beginn des reformierten Studiengangs ist das Wintersemester 2021/22, eine Bewerbung ist online ( https://www.uni-jena.de/Bewerbung_Master) bis zum 15. Juli 2021 möglich, danach startet die Einschreibung.
Informationen zum alten, auslaufenden Studiengang MSc. Geowissenschaften Geologie (2016), Geophysik (2011), Mineralogie (2016) finden Sie hier.

Die wichtigsten Neuerungen im Überblick:

  • Die Studienrichtung (Geologie, Mineralogie, Geophysik) müssen Studierende nicht bereits am Anfang, sondern erst am Ende des Studiums festlegen.
  • Im ersten Studienjahr gibt es zwei gemeinsame Lehrveranstaltungen, in der alle Studierenden die wichtigsten geowissenschaftlichen Methoden kennenlernen – und zwar aus allen drei Studienrichtungen.
  • Es gibt ein neues freies Modul, in dem man aus dem gesamten Angebot der Universität wählen kann. Damit ist es möglich, sich wichtige fachübergreifende Zusatzqualifikationen anzueignen, beispielsweise im Bereich Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Sprachen.
  • Zusätzlich zum Wintersemester wurde nun auch der Einstieg zum Sommersemester geschaffen. Auf diese Weise können längere Wartezeiten zwischen Bachelor- und Masterstudium verringert werden, was wiederum einen früheren Einstieg in das Berufsleben ermöglicht.
Wichtige Dokumente zum Download:

Was sind die Geowissenschaften und was die einzelnen Studienrichtungen?

Ultraschall im Feldpraktikum Foto: IGW

Das viersemestrige Studium bietet einerseits eine breit angelegte interdisziplinäre Ausbildung zum ganzheitlichen Verständnis des Systems Erde und andererseits die Möglichkeit zur Spezialisierung in die drei Studienrichtungen Geologie, Geophysik und Mineralogie.
Der Umgang mit großen Datenmengen, moderner Analytik und Geländearbeiten sind dabei integrale Bestandteile der Ausbildung.

Studienrichtungen:

Geologie:

In der Studienrichtung Geologie gibt es - ähnlich wie in der Medizin - mehrere Disziplinen.
Die Angewandte Geologie beinhaltet Rohstoffgeologie, Grundwassergeologie, Ingenieurgeologie, Bio-Geo-Interaktionen und Gesteins-Wasser-Wechselwirkungen. Viele dieser Beziehungen haben eine direkte Auswirkung auf die Versorgung , aber auch auf eine Gefährdung der Bevölkerung.
Die Strukturgeologie befasst sich mit Strukturen der Erde wie Falten, duktilen Scherzonen und spröden Brüchen, z.B. im Aufbau von Gebirgszügen weltweit. Damit sind meist auch metamorphe, magmatische und sedimentäre Prozesse eingebunden.
Die Hydrogeologie erforscht die "kritische Zone", die durch die Überlagerung von Atmosphäre, Hydrosphäre, Biosphäre und Lithosphäre gebildet wird. Neben den Böden umfasst sie die ungesättigte Zone sowie die oberflächennahe Hydrogeosphäre.
Die Allgemeine und Historische Geologie mit den Schwerpunkten Sedimentologie, Stratigraphie und Quartärgeologie untersucht den Aufbau von kontinentalen Sedimentbecken und die geschichtliche Entwicklung des Lebens sowie dessen Einfluss auf unseren Planeten.

Geophysik

In der Studienrichtung Geophysik beschäftigen Sie sich mit den physikalischen Eigenschaften von Gesteinen und Mineralen und deren Änderungen. Mit Hilfe modernster, geophysikalischer Messmethoden untersuchen Sie den unterirdischen Raum und seine gekoppelten Prozesse.
Ausgehend von fortschrittlichen Methoden der Geophysik in den Bereichen technische Geothermie, Magnetik und Elektromagnetik, Seismik sowie Aero- und Satellitengeophysik und deren Anwendung in Feldexperimenten, erlernen Sie neueste Methoden und Werkzeuge für die Prozessierung und Analyse großer Datensätze, um für die zukünftigen Herausforderungen in der Forschung und insbesondere der Industrie gerüstet zu sein.

Mineralogie

Das Studienangebot der Mineralogie umfasst unter anderem Module zur Kristallographie, Petrologie und Geochemie. Das Studium vermittelt die Zusammenhänge zwischen Aufbau, Zusammensetzung und Eigenschaften von Geomaterialien.
Sie erlernen dabei wichtige wissenschaftliche Techniken, darunter Methoden der Mikroskopie, Spektroskopie sowie der thermodynamischen und geochemischen Modellierung.
Diese Kenntnisse wenden Sie auf eine Vielzahl von mineralogischen Themen an, die von der Genese (Entstehung) von Erzlagerstätten bis hin zur Meteoritenforschung und der Geburt des Sonnensystems reichen. Ebenso werden materialwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen zum Umgang mit praxisnahen Themen vermittelt.

Studienaufbau

Im ersten Studienjahr erwerben Sie im Pflichtbereich „Geowissenschaftliche Praxis“ fortgeschrittene Kenntnisse zum fächerübergreifenden geowissenschaftlichen Arbeiten.
Der Wahlpflichtbereich „Geowissenschaftliche Spezialisierung“ umfasst Module aus Geologie, Geophysik und Mineralogie. Hier legen Sie je nach Interesse den Schwerpunkt auf eine der drei Studienrichtungen.
Im zweiten Studienjahr folgen das Geowissenschaftliche Projekt sowie die Masterarbeit, die Sie beide in der gewählten Studienrichtung anfertigen.
Im „Interdisziplinären Wahlpflichtbereich“ können Sie entweder weitere geowissenschaftliche Module belegen oder Module aus Nachbardisziplinen wie Physik, Chemie, Mathematik oder Biologie.
Außerdem gibt es ein freies Modul: Hier steht Ihnen das gesamte Lehrangebot der Universität zur Verfügung. Damit können Sie sich wichtige fachübergreifende Zusatzqualifikationen aneignen, beispielsweise im Bereich der Wirtschaftswissenschaften oder Sprachen.

Während des Studiums erhalten Sie vielfältige Möglichkeiten, an aktuellen Forschungsprojekten mitzuarbeiten. Die Vorlesungen und Seminare werden zudem durch praxisorientierte Exkursionen, Übungen und Messungen ergänzt. Weiterhin unterhält das Institut für Geowissenschaften enge Kontakte zu außeruniversitären Forschungsinstituten und Unternehmen.

Musterstudienplan_Master_Geow Foto: Universität Jena

Zugangsvoraussetzung und Bewerbung

Studenten beim durcharbeiten des Flyers Foto: Christoph Worsch (Universität Jena)

Die Zugangsvoraussetzung für den Studiengang M. Sc. Geowissenschaften ist ein qualifizierter Hochschulabschluss in einem Studiengang der Geowissenschaften mit Studienleistungen im Umfang von mindestens 180 Leistungspunkten (LP) mit dem Abschluss Bachelor of Science bzw. ein gleichwertiger Hochschulabschluss eines fachlich verwandten Studiums, der mit der Gesamtnote „gut“ oder besser bewertet wurde.

Absolventinnen und Absolventen verwandter Studiengänge (insbesondere der Physik, Chemie, Materialwissenschaften, weitere Geo- oder Umweltstudiengänge) werden grundsätzlich zugelassen, wenn ihr Abschluss gleichwertig ist. Die Gleichwertigkeit ist in der Regel dann gegeben, wenn im vorangegangenem Studium in den Fächern Mathematik, Physik, Chemie und Geowissenschaften Lehrveranstaltungen mit einem Leistungsumfang von insgesamt 60 LP (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System, ECTS) erfolgreich absolviert wurden. Dabei sollten mind. 12 LP aus dem geowissenschaftlichen Bereich stammen.
Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, die diese Zulassungsvoraussetzung nicht erfüllen, können zugelassen werden, wenn die Bewerbungsunterlagen eine besondere fachliche Befähigung für den Masterstudiengang Geowissenschaften und damit eine Gleichwertigkeit erkennen lassen. Die Feststellung der Gleichwertigkeit erfolgt durch eine Einzelfallprüfung, bei der auch einschlägige berufliche Erfahrungen berücksichtigt werden. Die Entscheidung hierüber wird vom Prüfungsausschuss getroffen. In Zweifelsfällen kann ein Auswahlgespräch durchgeführt werden. Eine Zulassung mit Auflagen ist möglich.

Das Master-Studium in Geowissenschaften erfordert fortgeschrittene Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache, um Lehrveranstaltungen in englischer Sprache gut verstehen und Texte zu Fachthemen selbstständig in englischer Sprache erstellen zu können. Das Vorliegen ausreichender Sprachkompetenzen wird durch die Zulassungskommission festgestellt. Der Nachweis kann auf folgende Weise erbracht werden:

  • durch Sprachzertifikate über Niveau B2 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens,
  • durch ein in englischer Sprache geführtes Aufnahmegespräch oder
  • durch Schulzeugnisse, die bis zum Abschluss, der zum Hochschulzugang berechtigt, einen mindestens vierjährigen Unterricht im Fach Englisch belegen.
  • Von internationalen Studienbewerberinnen und -bewerbern sind Deutschkenntnisse auf dem Niveau DSH 2 oder TestDaF 4x4 nachzuweisen.

Die Bewerbung ist über das Online-Bewerbungsportal der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität möglich.
Bei Fragen zur Bewerbung wenden Sie sich an den Studienfachberater.

Berufsaussichten

Das Studium qualifiziert Sie für eine praktische Berufstätigkeit in vielen Berufsfeldern, wobei Geowissenschaftlerinnen und Geowissenschaftler national wie international gefragte Fachkräfte sind.

Arbeitsplätze finden sich in der

  • Grundlagenforschung
  • in öffentlichen forschungsnahen Einrichtungen
  • Geo- und Ingenieurbüros
  • globalen Rohstoff- und Energiewirtschaft
  • Umweltschutz

Warum soll es der Master in Jena sein?

Alumni-Treffen im Garten des IGW Foto: IGW

Gerade Jena bietet durch seine besonders interessante geologische Umgebung, aber auch durch seine wirtschaftliche Lage als Hochindustriestandort vielfältige Bedingungen und engen Kontakt zu namhaften Firmen.

Das Studium selbst zeichnet sich durch das bewusst persönlich gehaltene Verhältnis zwischen Lehrenden und Studierenden aus.
"Hier kennt der Prof. noch die Namen seiner Studenten"
Viele Exkursionen in den Nahbereich und die ganze Welt, sowie zahlreiche Übungen, ermöglichen eine schnelle und einfache Vertiefung des theoretisch erlernten Stoffes.
Des Weiteren bietet Jena einen gut funktionierenden Fachschaftsrat. Er vertritt die Belange der Studierenden und plant Veranstaltungen (Geo-Grillabend, Barbarafeier, Filmnacht...), so dass sich Studierende auch fach- und semsterübergreifend kennenlernen können.

Übrigens: In dem Semesterbeitrag ist auch ein Semester- und Kulturticket enthalten: Das heißt, Sie können den öffentlichen Nahverkehr in Jena sowie die Regionalzüge in ganz Thüringen kostenlos nutzen. Außerdem ist der Eintritt in das Jenaer Theaterhaus, die Jenaer Philharmonie und in die städtischen Museen inklusive. Das ist thüringenweit einzigartig!

Fakten zum Studiengang​ und wichtige Dokumente

Studienabschluss: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Credits/ECTS: 120 Leistungspunkte (LP)
Lehrsprache: Deutsch
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester, Sommersemester
Teilzeit möglich: ja

Allgemeine Studienberatung und Informationen zum neuen Master Geowissenschaften
Kilian Pollok, Dr.
Wiss. Mitarbeiter
Telefon
+49 3641 9-48733
Fax
+49 3641 9-48702
Sprechzeiten:
Standort IGW, Burgweg 11
Tel: 9-48732
oder
Standort Zeiss, Carl-Zeiss-Promenade 10
Tel: 9-48733
je nach Vereinbarung
Raum 6712
Carl-Zeiss-Promenade 10
07745 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang